Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 3B: 9-3, when filing a disclaimer, please indicate on said disclaimer whether real property, money or other interest is being disclaimed.
When no real property is being disclaimed, (1) copy of the disclaimer with original signature(s) is sufficient together with the $10.00 per page filing fee, payable to: “Bergen County Surrogate’s Court”.
If real property is being disclaimed, describe the municipality and county wherein the property is situated, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 3B: 9-7. Block and Lot numbers are required by the County Clerk’s Office. Also, when real property is being disclaimed, we require (2) copies of the disclaimer with original signatures. We will file (1) copy with the Bergen County Surrogate’s Court (our filing fee is $10.00 per page, and is payable to: “Bergen County Surrogate’s Court”) and (1) copy with the County Clerk where the New Jersey Property is located (the filing fee is set by that County Clerk’s fee schedule and is payable to that County Clerk’s Office. Bergen County Clerk’s fee is presently $15.00 per disclaimer.
Please note that the fee may be paid by cash, money order or personal check provided the check is drawn upon a New Jersey bank bearing a New Jersey address; No Out Of State Checks will be accepted unless certified.
The disclaimer must be acknowledged by an attorney admitted to the New Jersey State Bar, or a Notary Public, with his or her seal and commission expiration date affixed thereto.
Disclaimers must be typed on standard paper (8 ½ x 11).